Computer Science (PhD)

Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Science (PhD)

Code		Title	Hours	Counts towards
Core Courses			12	
each		rses - two from - within "Core I below		
Required Courses			13	
CSC	600	Computer Science Graduate Orientation		
CSC	890	Doctoral Preliminary Exam		
CSC 700-level Courses (two or more)				
Elective / Research Courses			47	
"Elective / Research Courses" are approved in conjunction with the academic committee				
Total Ho	ours	·	72	

Code Select four cour each category	Title rses with two from	Hours 12	Counts towards			
Theory Category						
CSC 503	Computational Applied Logic	3				
CSC 505	Design and Analysis Of Algorithms	3				
CSC 512	Compiler Construction	3				
CSC 514	Foundations of Cryptography	3				
CSC 565	Graph Theory	3				
CSC 579	Introduction to Computer Performance Modeling	3				
CSC 580	Numerical Analysis I	3				
CSC 707	Automata, Languages and Computability Theory	3				
Systems Category						
CSC 501	Operating Systems Principles	3				

CSC 506	Architecture Of Parallel Computers	3
CSC 510	Software Engineering	3
CSC 520	Artificial Intelligence I	3
or CSC 720	Artificial Intelligence II	
CSC 540	Database Management Concepts and Systems	3
CSC 561	Principles of Computer Graphics	3
CSC 570	Computer Networks	3
or CSC 573	Internet Protocols	
CSC 574	Computer and Network Security	3

Faculty

Department Head

Gregory E. Rothermel, Professor

Distinguished University Research Professor

Donald L. Bitzer

Distinguished Professors

Tiffany M. Barnes

Mladen A. Vouk, Vice Chancellor for Research Development

Laurie A. Williams, Co-Director - NCSU Science of Security Lablet

Distinguished University Professor

James C. Lester II, Director of the Center for Educational Informatics

Michael A. Rappa, Director, Institute for Advanced Analytics

Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor

Georgios N. Rouskas, Director of Graduate Programs

Munindar P. Singh, Co-Director - NCSU Science of Security Lablet

Full Professor

John W. Baugh

Min Chi

2

Rada Y. Chirkova

Huaiyu Dai

Rudra Dutta, Associate Department Head

William H. Enck, Director of Wolfpack Security & Privacy Research (WSPR) Laboratory

Edward F. Gehringer

Xiaohui (Helen) Gu

Christopher G. Healey, Goodnight Distinguished Professor Analytics, Institute for Advanced Analytics

Steffen Heber

Timothy J. Menzies

R. Frank Mueller

Xipeng Shen

Matthias F. M. Stallmann

R. Raju Vatsavai

Associate Professors

Wesley K. G. Assunção

Justin Mathew Bradley

Marcelo d'Amorim

Zhishan Guo

Khaled Harfoush

Arnav H. Jhala

Alexandros Kapravelos

Sandeep K. Kuttal

Xu Liu

Collin F. Lynch

Noboru Matsuda

Kemafor Anyanwu Ogan

Sharath Kumar Raghvendra

Bradley G. Reaves

David L. Roberts, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Programs

Alessandra Scafuro

Muhammad Shahzad

Donald R. Sheehy

Kathryn T. Stolee

Sharma Vallin Thankachan

Benjamin A. Watson

Wujie Wen

Assistant Professors

Samira Mirbagher Ajorpaz

Veronica M. Cateté

Anupam Das

Peng Gao

Shiyan Jiang

Jung -Eun Kim

Chin Ho Lee

Jiajia Li

Huining Li

Jianqing Liu

Xiaorui Liu

Yuchen Liu

Yuan Liu

Aditi Mallavarapu

John-Paul Ore

Thomason W. Price

Dongkuan (DK) Xu

Vijay Shah

Dominik Wermke

Bowen Xu

Chenhan Xu

Man Ki Yoon

Ruozhou Yu

Teaching Professor

Sarah S. Heckman, Director of Undergraduate Programs

Teaching Associate Professors

Kimberly J. Titus

Tzvetelina (Lina) Battestilli

Jamie A Jennings

Jason T. King

Chandrika Satyavolu

Jessica Y. Schmidt

David B. Sturgill

Teaching Assistant Professors

Suzanne M. Balik

Abida Haque

Caio Batista de Melo

Alexander Card

Ignacio X. Dominguez

Adam Gaweda

Shuyin Jiao

Sterling M. McLeod

Isabella White

Lecturers

B. Jasmine Adams, Director of Undergraduate Advising

Scott Gerard

Margaret Heil, Director of Senior Design Center

ToniAnn Marini, Assistant Director of Undergraduate Advising

Research Professor

Franc Brglez

Assistant Research Professor

Bita Akram

Director

Leslie Rand-Pickett, Graduate Career Services

Emeritus Faculty

Dennis R. Bahler

Wu-show Chou

Jon Doyle

Edward W. Davis, Jr.

Robert J. Fornaro

Thomas L. Honeycutt

David F. McAllister

Harry Perros

Douglas S. Reeves

Woodrow Robbins

Carla D. Savage

William J. Stewart

Alan L. Tharp

David J. Thuente

Adjunct Faculty

Ram Chillarege

Aldo Dagnino

Steven Hunter

Chris Martens

Wookhee Min

Peng Ning

Christopher Parnin

Injong Rhee

Robert St. Amant

Xiaogang (Cliff) Wang

Tao Xie