Mechanical Engineering (PhD)

Degree Requirement

Code Hours Counts towards Required Courses 1 39 Select a minimum of 6 credits (2 courses) of 700 level courses Select a minimum of 18 credits (6 courses) 500-level to 700-level MAE courses Select a maximum of 15 credits (5 courses) of non-MAE or MAE technical elective courses approved in conjunction with the academic committee **Research Courses** 24 MAE 895 Doctoral Dissertation Research (Complete a minimum of 24 research credit

Additional Courses

9

"Additional Courses" are approved in conjunction with the academic committee ²

hours)

Total Hours 7

Additional Requirements

- Students with a previous MS degree from NCSU:
 - without minor may transfer up to 18 credit hours
 - with minor may transfer up to 30 credit hours
- Students with a previous MS from outside NCSU:
 - without minor may transfer up to 18 credit hours
 - with minor may transfer up to 18 credit hours

Faculty

Full Professors

Gregory D. Buckner

Tarek Echekki

Farhan Saifuddin Gandhi

Tasnim Hassan

He Huang

Jack Ray Edwards Jr

Srinath Ekkad

Tiegang Fang

Ashok Gopalarathnam

Richard David Gould

Xiaoning Jiang

Richard F. Keltie

Clement Kleinstreuer

Andrey Valerevich Kuznetsov

Hong Luc

Kevin M. Lyons

Gracious Ngaile

Kara Jo Peters

Afsaneh Rabiei

Lawrence M. Silverberg

Juei Feng Tu

Fen Wu

Fuh-Gwo Yuan

Yong Zhu

Mohammed A. Zikry

Associate Professors

Matthew Bryant

Jeffrey W. Eischen

Scott M. Ferguson

Charles Edward Hall Jr.

Hsiao-Ying Shadow Huang

Andre P. Mazzoleni

Venkat Narayanaswamy

Brendan O'Connor

Katherine Saul

Alexei V. Saveliev

Rohan A. Shirwalker

Hooman Vahedi Tafreshi

Christopher R. Vermillion

^{1 &}quot;Required Courses" must consist a minimum of two 700-level courses, and may consist of up to five non-MAE courses approved in conjunction with the academic committee.

 $^{^{\}rm 2}$ "Additional Courses" are limited to MAE 500/700-level and MAE 895

Cheryl Xu

Assistant Professors

James Braun

Darius Carter

Mingtai Chen

Chuyi Chen

Curtis Congreve

Landon Grace

Kenneth Granlund

Veeraraghava Raju Hasti

Mohammad Heiranian

Timothy Joseph Horn

Arun Kumar Kota

Donggun Lee

Jaemin Lee

Jun Liu

Seyed Mehran Mirramezani

Mark Moretto

Marie Muller

Mark R. Pankow

Laura Paquin

Jason F. Patrick

Jong Eun Ryu

Susmita Sarkar

Pramod K. V. Subbareddy

Jie Yin

Practice/Research/Teaching Professor

Stephen D. Terry

Teaching Associate Professor

Felix Ewere

Lecturers

Steven Berg

William Gregory Eades

Emeritus Faculty

John A. Bailey

Herbert Martin Eckerlin

Francis J. Hale

Franklin D. Hart

Hassan A. Hassan

Thomas H. Hodgson

Richard R. Johnson

David S. McRae

James C. Mulligan

Robert T. Nagel

Larry H. Royster

Ronald O. Scattergood

Furman Y. Sorrell Jr.

John S. Strenkowski

Carl F. Zorowski