University Catalog 2024-2025

Animal Science (MS)

Master of Science Degree Requirements

Required Courses4
Animal Science Seminar
Master's Supervised Teaching
Master's Thesis Research
Master's Supervised Research
Safety and Ethics in Animal Science
Graduate Elective Courses18
Select any 500 - 700 level courses determined in conjunction with the advisory committee.
Elective Courses 18
Select any "Elective Courses" determined in conjunction with the advisory committee.
Total Hours30

Students may choose 8 credits in combination of: ANS 693 Master's Supervised Research/ANS 695 Master's Thesis Research, Seminar, ANS 685 Master's Supervised Teaching, and other elective graded courses.

Additional Requirements & Restrictions

  • A minimum of one (1) full academic year or its equivalent in residence as a graduate student at the university
  • A minimum of 30 semester hours of graduate work in the degree program, unless the specific program requires more hours, including a minimum of 18 hours of 500-700 level coursework
  • No more than six (6) hours of 400-level courses can be counted toward the minimum 30-hour requirement, and they may not come from the major field
  • No more than three (3) credit hours of Masters Supervised Teaching (ANS 685) can be included in the minimum 30-credit program
  • No more than six hours of Thesis Research (ANS 693 Master's Supervised Research/ANS 695 Master's Thesis Research) in the minimum 30-hour program
  • No more than two (2) credit hours of seminar (S/U graded) may be included in the minimum 30-credit hour program
  • Masters Thesis Preparation (ANS 699) credits may not be used to satisfy the 30-credit hour requirement
  • A thesis
  • A departmental defense seminar
  • A comprehensive oral examination

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master’s (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master’s degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree, or obtain a thesis-based Master’s degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.


  • Glen William Almond
  • Joan Eisemann
  • Charlotte E. Farin
  • Vivek Fellner
  • William Lucas Flowers IV
  • Fikret Isik
  • Sung Woo Kim
  • Duane K. Larick
  • Hsiao-Ching Liu
  • Christian Maltecca
  • Melissa Schuster Merrill
  • Jeannette A. Moore
  • Jack Odle
  • Shannon Elizabeth Phillips
  • Jorge A. Piedrahita
  • Matt H. Poore
  • Miles T. See
  • Yanbin Shen
  • Paul David Siciliano
  • Eric VanHeugten
  • Elizabeth B. Wilson
  • Dana J. Hanson
  • Mark T. Knauer
  • Daniel Heath Poole
  • Korinn Edna Saker
  • Giuseppe Valacchi
  • Debora A. Esposito
  • Jonathan Paul Holt
  • Jicai Jiang
  • Michael Vadakekara Joseph
  • Suzanne McKay Leonard
  • Casey C. Nestor
  • Carrie L. Pickworth
  • Xiaoqiu Wang
  • Stephanie Hill Ward
  • Kimberly Dawn Ange-Van Heugten
  • Deidre Danielle Harmon
  • James B. Holland
  • Francesco Tiezzi Mazzoni Della Stella Ma
  • Shweta Trivedi
  • Lin Xi
  • Brenda P. Alston-Mills
  • Geoffrey A. Benson
  • Leonard S. Bull
  • Roger G. Crickenberger
  • Kenneth L. Esbenshade
  • Warren H. Croom, Jr.
  • Eugene Eisen
  • Winston Murry Hagler
  • Raymond W. Harvey
  • Brinton Alden Hopkins
  • Gerald B. Huntington
  • James R. Jones
  • Jean-Marie Luginbuhl
  • Roger Lee McCraw
  • William M. Morrow
  • Richard M. Myers
  • Robert M. Petters
  • Odis Wayne Robison
  • Frank D. Sargent
  • Jerry Wayne Spears
  • Steven Paul Washburn
  • Michael David Whitacre
  • Lon Weidner Whitlow
  • Charles Michael Williams
  • Todd Aaron Armstrong
  • Raymond Dean Boyd
  • Max T. Coffey
  • Kent A Gray
  • Jeffrey Alan Hansen
  • Justin W. Holl
  • Elizabeth A. Koutsos
  • Douglas Wyatt Newcom
  • Theo A. van Kempen
  • Rasha Qudsieh

Assistant Professor

  • Felipe Alves Correa Carvalho da Silva