University Catalog 2023-2024

Aerospace Engineering (MS)

Master of Science Degree Requirements

Non-Thesis Option

Required Courses27
Select a minimum of nine 500-level to 700-level courses approved in conjunction with the academic committee *
Project Course3
Project Work In Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Total Hours30

Thesis Option

Required Courses21
Select a minimum of seven 500-level to 700-level courses approved in conjunction with the academic committee *
Research Course9
Master's Thesis Research
Total Hours30

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master’s (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master’s degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree, or obtain a thesis-based Master’s degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.


Full Professors

  • Gregory D. Buckner
  • Tarek Echekki
  • Farhan Saifuddin Gandhi
  • Tasnim Hassan
  • He Huang
  • Jack Ray Edwards Jr.
  • Srinath Varadarajan Ekkad
  • Tiegang Fang
  • Ashok Gopalarathnam
  • Richard David Gould
  • Xiaoning Jiang
  • Richard F. Keltie
  • Clement Kleinstreuer
  • Andrey Valerevich Kuznetsov
  • James Woodrow Leach
  • Hong Luo
  • Kevin M. Lyons
  • Gracious Ngaile
  • Kara Jo Peters
  • Afsaneh Rabiei
  • Lawrence M. Silverberg
  • Juei Feng Tu
  • Fen Wu
  • Fuh-Gwo Yuan
  • Yong Zhu
  • Mohammed A. Zikry

Associate Professors

  • Michael A. Boles
  • Matthew Bryant
  • Jeffrey W. Eischen
  • Scott M. Ferguson
  • Su Hao
  • Charles Edward Hall Jr.
  • Hsiao-Ying Shadow Huang
  • Andre P. Mazzoleni
  • Marie Muller
  • Venkateswaran Narayanaswamy
  • Brendan Timothy O'Connor
  • Mark R. Pankow
  • Katherine Saul
  • Alexei V. Saveliev
  • Rohan A. Shirwalker
  • Hooman Vahedi Tafreshi
  • Christopher Raymond Vermillion
  • Chengying Xu

Assistant Professors

  • James Braun
  • Darius Carter
  • Mingtai Chen
  • Chuyi Chen
  • Landon Grace
  • Kenneth Granlund
  • Veeraraghava Raju Hasti
  • Mohammad Heiranian
  • Timothy Joseph Horn
  • Jingjie Hu
  • Arun Kumar Kota
  • Andrew Jeungahn Lee
  • Donggun Lee
  • Jun Liu
  • Jason F. Patrick
  • Pramod Kumar Veera Subbareddy
  • Henry Oliver Tenadooah Ware
  • Chi-An Yi
  • Jie Yin

Emeritus Faculty

  • Thomas A. Dow
  • Herbert Martin Eckerlin
  • Hassan A. Hassan
  • David S. McRae
  • Robert T. Nagel
  • John S. Strenkowski