University Catalog 2023-2024

Physics (MS)

Master of Science Degree Requirements

Thesis (Option A) Requirements

Letter-Graded Courses24
Select six PY 500-level / 700-level courses approved in conjunction with the academic committee 1
Research Course6
Master's Thesis Research (Optional)
Total Hours30

Non-Thesis (Option B) Requirements

Letter-Graded Courses18
Select six PY 500-level / 700-level courses approved in conjunction with the academic committee 1,2
Department Qualifying Exam12
Students must pass a Department Qualifying Exam from the following courses:
Statistical Physics I
Quantum Mechanics II
Advanced Classical Mechanics I
Advanced Electricity and Magnetism I
Total Hours30

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master’s (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master’s degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree, or obtain a thesis-based Master’s degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.


  • Harald Ade
  • David E. Aspnes
  • Robert J. Beichner
  • Jerzy Bernholc
  • John Michael Blondin
  • John D. Brown
  • Laura I. Clarke
  • Karen E. Daniels
  • William L. Ditto
  • Daniel B. Dougherty
  • Carla Frohlich
  • Robert Golub
  • Kenan Gundogdu
  • Hans D. Hallen
  • Paul R. Huffman
  • Chueng Ryong Ji
  • James P. Kneller
  • Gail C. McLaughlin
  • Lubos Mitas
  • Robert Riehn
  • Christopher M. Roland
  • Maria C. Sagui
  • Thomas M. Schaefer
  • John E. Thomas
  • Mithat Unsal
  • Keith R. Weninger
  • Albert R. Young
  • Matthew Piron Green
  • Alexander Kemper
  • Divine Philip Kumah
  • Shuang Fang Lim
  • Richard Leigh Longland
  • Hong Wang
  • Julio Monti Belmonte
  • Rongmon Bordoloi
  • Mary Williard Elting
  • Sebastian Konig
  • Sharonda Leblanc
  • Katherine Jean Mack
  • Vladimir Skokov
  • Dali Sun
  • Jason Russell Bochinski
  • Kazimierz Borkowski
  • Abay Dinku
  • Daniel Jacob Doucette
  • Brand Irving Fortner
  • Keith Heyward
  • Parminder Kaur
  • John H. Kelley
  • Hayen Leendert
  • Kent Leung
  • Wenchang Lu
  • Vijaya Mehta
  • Zodiac T. Webster
  • Ruth W. Chabay
  • Kwong T. Chung
  • James W. Cook Jr.
  • Stephen R. Cotanch
  • William Robert Davis
  • Donald C. Ellison
  • Raymond Earl Fornes
  • Christopher Robert Gould
  • David G. Haase
  • Karen L. Johnston
  • Fred Lado Jr.
  • Jacqueline Krim
  • George W. Parker III
  • Richard R. Patty
  • Stephen Reynolds
  • Phillip J. Stiles

Associate Professor

  • Ian Roederer

Assistant Professor

  • Xingcheng Lin

Teaching Professor

  • Aaron Titus

Teaching Assistant Professor

  • Kasey Wagoner