University Catalog 2023-2024

Textile Technology Management (PhD)

Degree Requirements

Qualifying Courses12
Textile Technology Management
Doctoral Research Methods
Advances in Fabric Formation, Structure, and Properties
Decision Models and Applications in Textile and Apparel Management
Seminar Courses2
Seminar 1
Additional Courses 26
"Additional Courses" are approved in conjunction with the academic committee
Elective Courses52
"Elective Courses" that will be applied to reach 72 credit hours will be determined in conjunction with the academic committee
Total Hours72

Additional Requirements

  • A minimum of 72 credit hours is required of students entering the program with a B.S. degree, or a minimum of 54 credit hours beyond the M.S. degree is required. (Students, who enter the Ph.D. program directly upon completion of an M.S. at NC State, may be allowed credit for up to 30 hours of their M.S. and thus would require 42 additional credit hours to complete the Ph.D.) Most of these credit hours are expected to be research credits (TTM 893 Doctoral Supervised Research or TTM 895 Doctoral Dissertation Research).
  • Following successful course completion, the student needs to pass the defense of a research proposal to obtain the candidacy for the Ph.D degree.
  • The final examination is an oral exam where the student presents and defends her/his research procedures, results and conclusions. The presentation will be made to an examining committee consisting of the student’s advisory committee and is open to interested faculty, staff and students. After the presentation the student will be orally examined by the examining committee. The final oral examination can be scheduled once all coursework requirements have been fulfilled and the committee is satisfied that the dissertation is complete, but not earlier than one semester after admission to candidacy.
  • The anticipated time for completion of the Ph.D. program is four years for a student entering from a B.S. degree and three years for entry from an M.S. degree. The minimum time required (in exceptional cases) is two years beyond entry if the student obtained an M.S. degree from NC State.

  • Roger Barker
  • Keith Beck
  • Timothy Clapp
  • Ahmed Mohamed El-Shafei
  • Shu-Cherng Fang
  • Harold Freeman
  • Tushar Ghosh
  • A. Blanton Godfrey
  • Russell Gorga
  • Maureen Grasso
  • Robert Handfield
  • Peter Hauser
  • David Hinks
  • Cynthia Istook
  • Warren Jasper
  • Byoungho Jin
  • Jeffrey Joines
  • Martin King
  • Russell King
  • Traci Lamar
  • Karen Leonas
  • Trevor Little
  • Marquerite Moore
  • Melissa Pasquinelli
  • Behnam Pourdeyhimi
  • Michael Rappa
  • Jon Rust
  • Abdel-fattah Mohamed Seyam
  • Renzo Shamey
  • Yingjiao Xu
  • Katherine Emma Annett-Hitchcock
  • Pamela Banks-Lee
  • Kristin Barletta
  • Philip Bradford
  • Emiel DenHartog
  • Wei Gao
  • Helmut Hergeth
  • George Hodge
  • Richard Kotek
  • Wendy Krause
  • Jerome Lavelle
  • Lisa Parrillo-Chapman
  • Lori Rothenberg
  • Sonja Salmon
  • Minyoung Suh
  • Andre West
  • Xiaomeng Fang
  • Ericka Ford
  • Jessica Gluck
  • Chan Mi Hwang
  • Delisia Matthews
  • Robert Ormond
  • Jane Porterfield
  • Elizabeth Powell
  • Eunkyoung Shim
  • Januka Budhathoki Uprety
  • Jamie Woodbridge
  • Rong Yin
  • Mengmeng Zhu
  • Nagendra Anantharamaiah
  • Genevieve Garland
  • Hechmi Hamouda
  • Cassandra Kwon
  • Benoit Maze
  • Henry Nuttle
  • Robert Barnhardt
  • Subhash Batra
  • Stephen Chapman
  • Robert Donaldson
  • Aly El-Shiekh
  • Perry Grady
  • Bhupender Gupta
  • Thom Hodgson
  • Stephen Margolis
  • John McCreery
  • Stephen Michielsen
  • Gary Mock
  • Mansour Mohamed
  • William Oxenham
  • Nancy Powell
  • Carl Smith
  • Gary Smith
  • Moon Won Suh
  • Charles Tomasino
  • James Wilson
  • Samuel Winchester
  • Genevieve Garland
  • Abhay Sham Joijode
  • Mohamad Samir Midani
  • Samuel Moore
  • Behnam Pourdeyhimi
  • Antony J. Williams
  • Julie Ann Willoughby
  • Bong-Yeol Yeom

Associate Professor

  • Nelson Benitez

Assistant Professor

  • Amanda Mills