Computer Science (MS)

Apply Now

Master of Science Degree Requirements

Core Courses6
Select a minimum of one course per category under "Core Courses" listed below
Required Courses7
Computer Science Graduate Orientation
Master's Thesis Research
Elective Courses9
CSC 500 or 700-level courses
Minor Courses, CSC Graduate Electives or Restricted Electives9
"Minor Courses, CSC Graduate Electives or Restricted Electives" will be approved in conjunction with the academic committee
Total Hours31

Core Courses

Select minimum of two courses, one from each category6
Theory Category
CSC 503Computational Applied Logic3
CSC 505Design and Analysis Of Algorithms3
CSC 512Compiler Construction3
CSC 514Foundations of Cryptography
CSC 565Graph Theory3
CSC 579Introduction to Computer Performance Modeling3
CSC 580Numerical Analysis I3
Systems Category
CSC 501Operating Systems Principles3
CSC 506Architecture Of Parallel Computers3
CSC 510Software Engineering3
CSC 520Artificial Intelligence I3
or CSC 720 Artificial Intelligence II
CSC 540Database Management concepts and Systems3
CSC 561Principles of Computer Graphics3
CSC 570Computer Networks3
or CSC 573 Internet Protocols
CSC 574Computer and Network Security3

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master’s (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master’s degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree, or obtain a thesis-based Master’s degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.


Full Professors

  • Tiffany M. Barnes
  • Donald L. Bitzer
  • Rada Yuryevna Chirkova
  • Jon Doyle
  • Rudra Dutta
  • Edward F. Gehringer
  • Xiaohui Gu
  • Christopher Graham Healey
  • James C. Lester II
  • Timothy James Menzies
  • Rainer Frank Mueller
  • Harilaos George Perros
  • Michael A. Rappa
  • Douglas S. Reeves
  • Gregg Evan Rothermel
  • Georgios N. Rouskas
  • Nagiza Faridovna Samatova
  • Carla Diane Savage
  • Xipeng Shen
  • Munindar P. Singh
  • Matthias F. M. Stallmann
  • Mladen Alan Vouk
  • Laurie A. Williams

Associate Professors

  • Dennis R. Bahler
  • Min Chi
  • William H. Enck
  • Vincent W. Freeh
  • Khaled Abdel Hamid Harfoush
  • Steffen Heber
  • Arnav Harish Jhala
  • Edgar Lobaton
  • Noboru Matsuda
  • K. Anyanwu Ogan
  • David L. Roberts
  • Donald R. Sheehy
  • Ranga Raju Vatsavai
  • Benjamin Allen Watson

Assistant Professors

  • Anupam Das
  • Guoliang Jin
  • Alexandros Kapravelos
  • Xu Liu
  • Collin Francis Lynch
  • Christopher Robin Martens
  • John-Paul William Ore
  • Christopher Joseph Parnin
  • Thomason William Price
  • Bradley Galloway Reaves
  • Alessandra Scafuro
  • Muhammad Shahzad
  • Kathryn Thomasset Stolee
  • Ruozhou Yu

Practice/Research/Teaching Professors

  • Ignacio Xavier Dominguez
  • Jason Tyler King
  • Tzvetelina Battestilli
  • Jamie Allison Jennings
  • Jessica Young Schmidt
  • Bita Akram
  • Suzanne M. Balik
  • Tzvetelina Battestilli
  • Ignacio Xavier Dominguez
  • Patrick A. Dreher
  • Sarah Smith Heckman
  • Jamie Allison Jennings
  • Shuyin Jiao
  • Shuyin Jiao
  • Jason Tyler King
  • Jessica Young Schmidt
  • David Brian Sturgill


  • Ketchiozo Thierry Wandji

Emeritus Faculty

  • Wu-show Chou
  • Edward Willmore Davis Jr.
  • Robert Joseph Fornaro
  • Thomas Lynn Honeycutt
  • David Franklin McAllister
  • Woodrow Robbins
  • William James Stewart
  • Alan Lee Tharp
  • David J. Thuente

Adjunct professors

  • Robert Loftin
  • Bradford Wayne Mott