Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology (MS)

Apply Now

Degree Requirements

Required Courses8
Introduction to Biological Research
Master's Thesis Research
Minor Courses9
Select nine credit hours of credits for a required minor determined in conjunction with the academic committee
Additional Courses13
"Additional Courses" are approved in conjunction with the academic committee to meet 30 total hours
Total Hours30

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master’s (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master’s degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree, or obtain a thesis-based Master’s degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.


Full Professors

  • David Derek Aday
  • Anthony T. Blikslager
  • Russell J. Borski
  • Jeffrey A. Buckel
  • Jaime A. Collazo
  • William Gregory Cope
  • Maria T. Correa
  • Frederick Willis Cubbage
  • Robert R. Dunn
  • Kevin Gross
  • Harry Valentine Daniels III
  • Christopher S. DePerno
  • David B. Eggleston
  • John R. Godwin
  • Craig A. Harms
  • George R. Hess
  • Jeffrey M. Hinshaw
  • Jay Frederick Levine
  • Thomas J. Kwak
  • Thomas M. Losordo
  • Kathryn Montgome Meurs
  • Christopher E. Moorman
  • Stacy Arnold Charles Nelson
  • Markus Nils Peterson
  • Luis Alonso Ramirez-Ulate
  • Robert Jeryl Richardson
  • Ann Helen Ross
  • Robert Michael Scheller
  • Clyde E. Sorenson
  • Michael K. Stoskopf

Associate Professors

  • Caren Beth Cooper
  • Madhusudan V. Katti
  • Randall Brian Langerhans
  • Theodore Henry Shear

Assistant Professors

  • Tal Ben-Horin
  • Jie Cao
  • Khara Deanne Grieger
  • Tara Myers Harrison
  • Nathan James Hostetter
  • Lincoln Ray Larson
  • Jamian Krishna Pacifici
  • Olivia Anne Petritz
  • Benjamin J. Reading
  • Kathryn Tate Stevenson
  • Bradley William Taylor
  • Elsa Youngsteadt

Practice/Research/Teaching Professors

  • Jesse Robert Fischer
  • Roland Wesley Kays
  • Lara B. Pacifici
  • Martha Burford Reiskind
  • Kara Kristina Walker