Mathematics (MS)

Apply Now

Master of Science Degree Requirements

Required Courses9
Select one course from each of the following categories:
Continuous Mathematics
Introduction To Complex Variables
Analysis I
Dynamic Systems and Multivariable Control I
Ordinary Differential Equations I
Introduction To Partial Differential Equations
Probability and Stochastic Processes I
Introduction to Topology
Introduction to Manifold Theory
Discrete Mathematics
Linear Programming
Linear Algebra
Abstract Algebra I
Linear Transformations and Matrix Theory
Combinatorics I
Mathematical Analysis II
Computational Mathematics
Computer Algebra
Uncertainty Quantification for Physical and Biological Models
Graph Theory
Mathematical Modeling of Physical and Biological Processes I
In Depth Requirement Courses12
Select two course sequences, or one group of three thematically linked courses, approved in conjunction with the academic committee
Additional Courses9
"Additional Courses" are approved in conjunction with the academic committee to meet 30 total hours
Total Hours30

Accelerated Bachelor's/Master's Degree Requirements

The Accelerated Bachelors/Master’s (ABM) degree program allows exceptional undergraduate students at NC State an opportunity to complete the requirements for both the Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees at an accelerated pace. These undergraduate students may double count up to 12 credits and obtain a non-thesis Master’s degree in the same field within 12 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree, or obtain a thesis-based Master’s degree in the same field within 18 months of completing the Bachelor’s degree.

This degree program also provides an opportunity for the Directors of Graduate Programs (DGPs) at NC State to recruit rising juniors in their major to their graduate programs. However, permission to pursue an ABM degree program does not guarantee admission to the Graduate School. Admission is contingent on meeting eligibility requirements at the time of entering the graduate program.


Full Professors

  • Bojko Nentchev Bakalov
  • Alina Emil Chertock
  • Moody Ten-Chao Chu
  • Jo-Ann D. Cohen
  • Patrick Louis Combettes
  • Pierre Alain Gremaud
  • Mansoor Abbas Haider
  • Hoon Hong
  • Ilse Ipsen
  • Kazufumi Ito
  • Naihuan Jing
  • Erich L. Kaltofen
  • Carl Timothy Kelley
  • Arkady Kheyfets
  • Irina Aleksandrovna Kogan
  • Zhilin Li
  • Xiao-Biao Lin
  • Alun L. Lloyd
  • Sharon R. Lubkin
  • Negash G. Medhin
  • Kailash Chandra Misra
  • Mette Olufsen
  • Tao Pang
  • Nathan P. Reading
  • Jesus Rodriguez
  • Michael Shearer
  • Jack William Silverstein
  • Ralph Conover Smith
  • Ernest Lester Stitzinger
  • Seth M. Sullivant
  • Agnes Szanto
  • Hien Trong Tran
  • Semyon Victor Tsynkov
  • Dmitry Valerievich Zenkov

Associate Professors

  • Lorena Viorica Bociu
  • Min Jeong Kang
  • Ricky Ini Liu
  • Arvind Krishna Saibaba
  • David Papp
  • Cynthia Leslie Vinzant

Assistant Professors

  • Martin Helmer
  • Alen Alexanderian
  • Mohammad Mehdi Farazmand
  • Kevin Bryant Flores
  • P. Ivanisvili
  • C. Jones
  • Yerkin Kitapbayev
  • Tye Lidman
  • P. McGrath
  • Ryan William Murray
  • Tien Khai Nguyen
  • A. Papanicolaou
  • T. Saksala
  • Radmila Sazdanovic

Practice/Research/Teaching Professors

  • Elisabeth M. M. Brown
  • L. Castle
  • Alina Nicoleta Duca
  • Molly A. Fenn
  • Bevin Laurel Maultsby
  • S. Paul
  • Brenda B. Williams

Emeritus Faculty

  • John William Bishir
  • Stephen LaVern Campbell
  • Richard E. Chandler
  • H. Charlton
  • Ethelbert N. Chukwu
  • Lung-ock Chung
  • Joseph C. Dunn
  • Gary Doyle Faulkner
  • John E. Franke
  • Ronald O. Fulp
  • Dennis E. Garoutte
  • Robert E. Hartwig
  • Aloysius G. Helminck
  • Robert H. Martin Jr.
  • Thomas J. Lada
  • Joe A. Marlin
  • Carl Meyer Jr.
  • Larry Keith Norris
  • Sandra Paur
  • Lavon Barry Page
  • E. Peterson
  • Mohan Sastri Putcha
  • N. Rose
  • Stephen Schecter
  • Jeffrey Scott Scroggs
  • James Francis Selgrade
  • C. Siewert
  • Robert Silber
  • Michael F. Singer
  • R. White

Adjunct Faculty

  • Scott Christopher Batson
  • Jonathan David Hauenstein
  • Patricia L. Hersh
  • John Lavery
  • Jordan E. Massad
  • Jessica Loock Matthews
  • J. Ottesen