Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering (BME) is a fast-growing, interdisciplinary field that integrates engineering, mathematics, medicine, and science to improve human health and quality of life. In the Joint Department of BME, students are given access to state-of-the-art equipment and facilities at both NC State University and UNC-Chapel Hill. This unique relationship offers students a wealth of opportunities for research, group collaboration, coursework, and exposure to experts in medicine and engineering. While all of the classes undergraduate students need to complete their degree are available on their home campus, students may choose to take courses at either campus. Students never have to travel to the partner campus; the joint program simply offers additional opportunities.

After completing core courses and being admitted through a competitive process to the program, students are effectively admitted to the partner campus. Students have full standing at both NC State and UNC. Upon graduation, the diploma bears the seals and signatures of both universities, and the Biomedical and Health Sciences Engineering program is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET,

Department Highlights:

For more information about our department, including contact information, visit our website.

Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering
North Carolina State University
4310 Engineering Building III
Campus Box 7115
Raleigh, NC 27695-7115


Dr. Paul Dayton
Professor and Interim Department Head
North Carolina State University
4012 Engineering Building III
Raleigh, NC 27695



Interim Department Chair

  • Paul Dayton

Director of Undergraduate Studies

  • Lianne Cartee


  • Ted Bateman
  • Rahima Benhabbour
  • Ashley Brown
  • Yevgeny Brudno
  • Lianne Cartee
  • Ke Cheng
  • Jacqueline Cole
  • Michael Daniele
  • Paul Dayton
  • Bob Dennis
  • Brian Diekman
  • Kenneth Donnelly
  • Matthew Fisher
  • Jason Franz
  • Donald Freytes
  • Caterina Gallippi
  • Michael Gamcsik
  • Andrea Giovannucci
  • Shawn Gomez
  • Edward Grant
  • Alon Greenbaum
  • Xiaogang Hu
  • Helen Huang
  • Devin Hubbard
  • Naji Husseini
  • Derek Kamper
  • David Lalush
  • Wesley Legant
  • Frances Ligler
  • George Ligler
  • Jeffrey Macdonald
  • Scott Magness
  • Troy Nagle
  • Roger Narayan
  • Gianmarco Pinton
  • William Polacheck
  • Mark Ramsey
  • Imran Rizvi
  • Mike Sano
  • Koji Sode
  • Mark Tommerdahl
  • David Zaharoff