Department of Crop and Soil Sciences

We roll up our sleeves and get our hands dirty to accomplish great things in the Department of Crop and Soil Sciences. Our world-class undergraduate programs prepare students to answer environmental and agricultural challenges, building on our rich history of growing agricultural and environmental sciences in North Carolina and around the globe. But our focus is on the future, because the solutions for feeding a growing population, conserving natural resources and dealing with climate change are rooted in crop and soil sciences.

We conduct research that drives innovation and new technology, expands understanding and provides science-based information to solve problems, but we don’t stop there. We make sure our graduates, stakeholders and partners put their gained knowledge and innovation to work for a better tomorrow.

The department offers a broad spectrum of undergraduate opportunities: three bachelor of science degrees, four minors, two certificates, and three associates of applied science. For information about our degrees, follow the links under "Plans" tab shown above. 


For more information about this department, including contact information, visit our website.

Undergraduate Programs Office


Department Head

  • Jeff Mullahey

Associate Department Head

  • David A. Crouse

Director of Undergraduate Programs

  • David A. Crouse

Director of Graduate Programs for Crop Science

  • Candace Haigler

Director of Graduate Programs for Soil Science

  • Mike Mullen

Department Extension Leader

  • Deanna L. Osmond

Distinguished University Professor

  • M.M. Goodman

Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor

  • D.A. Crouse
  • R.P. Patterson
  • M.S. Schroeder-Moreno

William Neal Reynolds Professors

  • D. Jordan
  • M.J. Vepraskas


  • A. Amoozegar
  • S.W. Broome
  • D.A. Crouse
  • R.E. Dewey
  • O.W. Duckworth
  • K.L. Edmisten
  • L.R. Fisher
  • C.H. Haigler
  • J.L. Havlin
  • R.W. Heiniger
  • J.L. Heitman
  • V. Kuraparthy
  • R.S. Lewis
  • R.A. McLaughlin
  • S.R. Milla-Lewis
  • G.L. Miller
  • M.D. Mullen
  • J.P. Murphy
  • D.L. Osmond
  • C.H. Peacock
  • S.C. Reberg-Horton
  • R.J. Richardson
  • T.W. Rufty, Jr.
  • M.S. Schroeder-Moreno
  • W. Shi
  • F.H. Yelverton

  • M.S. Castillo
  • W.J. Everman
  • T.W. Gannon
  • A.K. Graves
  • R. Leon Gonzalez
  • L.J. Unruh Snyder
  • M.C. Vann
  • C.W. Cahoon
  • J.C. Dunne
  • K. Garcia
  • L. Gatiboni
  • A.M Johnson
  • S.B. Kulesza
  • A.R. Post
  • M.C. Ricker
  • R.A. Vann
  • A.L. Woodley

USDA Faculty

  • G. Brown-Guedira
  • K.O. Burkey
  • A.J. Franzluebbers
  • J.B. Holland
  • M.D. Krakowsky
  • D.P. Livingston
  • A.M. Locke
  • D.S. Marshall
  • R.M. Mian
  • E. Taliercio
  • R. Tisdale