University Catalog 2023-2024

Department of Textile and Apparel, Technology and Management

The Department of Textile and Apparel, Technology and Management (TATM) offers Bachelor of Science degrees in Fashion and Textile Management, and in Fashion and Textile Design. The B.S. in Fashion and Textile Management permits the student to specialize in one of two concentrations: Textile Brand Management and Marketing, and Fashion Development and Product Management. The B.S. in Fashion and Textile Design degree offers two concentrations in Fashion Design and Textile Design. Each program requires a common series of foundation courses covering the principles, fundamentals, and applications of textile technology and business. The Department’s programs build on strong global textile complex industry partnerships (fiber to end use consumer) to prepare future industry leaders.

Department Highlights: 

  • The Department has state of the art laboratories and studios including the Textile Management Science Laboratory, Digital Design Center, Fashion Studio, Textile Design Studio, Surface Design Studio, Filament and Technology Lab, Specialty Software Computer Lab, and Digital Printing and Seamless Knitting Studio. 
  • TATM places a key importance on career management preparation for our students and strongly encourages internships as a preparation for full-time employment. 
  • The Department publishes an online electronic journal quarterly, Journal of Textile and Apparel, Technology and Management (JTATM), which provides industry, government and academic personnel with the timely dissemination of textile information. Visit JTATM to learn more.

For more information about our department, including contact information, visit our website.

Department of Textile and Apparel, Technology and Management
North Carolina State University
Campus Box 8301
Raleigh, NC 27695-8301


Dr. Abdel-Fattah Seyam
Professor and Department Head
North Carolina State University
Wilson College of Textiles 3253, Box 8301
Raleigh, NC 27695-8301



  • A. M. Seyam, Department Head
  • K. A. Thoney-Barletta, Associate Head and Director of Undergraduate Programs
  • L. L. Parrillo-Chapman, Associate Head and Director of Graduate Programs

University Distinguished Professors

  • A. B. Godfrey, Joseph D. Moore Professor of Textile & Apparel, Technology & Management

Distinguished Professors

  • B. E. Jin, Albert Myers Distinguished Professor of Textile Economics and Management
  • A. M. Seyam, Charles A. Cannon Professor of Textiles


  • K.E. Annett-Hitchcock
  • T. A. Lamar
  • K. K. Leonas
  • P. McCauley
  • M. M. Moore
  • L. L. Parrillo-Chapman
  • K. A. Thoney-Barletta
  • Y. Xu

Associate Professors

  • H. H. Hergeth
  • K. Mathur
  • D. R. Matthews
  • J. A. Porterfield
  • M. Suh
  • A. J. West

Assistant Professors

  • C. Hwang
  • K. E. Nartker
  • J. F. Woodbridge

Assistant Teaching Professors

  • E. C. Law

Adjunct Professors

  • R. McMahon Jr.
  • T. W. Theyson

Adjunct Associate Professors

  • M. T. Fralix
  • G. M. Garland
  • W. I. Long
  • J. Meng
  • M. A. Messura
  • T. Montgomery
  • S. B. Moore
  • J. F. Watson
  • N. W. Webster

Adjunct Assistant Professors

  • G. Barbee
  • C. H. Kwon
  • E. D. Parrish

Adjunct Lecturers

  • M. Restaino
  • E. Rohde

Emeritus Professors

  • R. A. Barnhardt
  • S. K. Batra
  • N. L. Cassill
  • R. A. Donaldson
  • A. H. El-Shiekh
  • C. L. Istook
  • T. J. Little
  • M. H. Mohamed
  • N. B. Powell
  • W. C. Stuckey
  • M. W. Suh
  • S. C. Winchester

Emeritus Associate Professors

  • H. A. Davis
  • P. B. Hudson
  • L. F. Rothenberg
  • G. W. Smith

Emeritus Teaching Associate Professors

  • W. D. Harazin