University Catalog 2023-2024

School of Public and International Affairs

For more information about this department, including contact information, visit the department.

The Department of Political Science, part of the  School for Public and International Affairs, offers basic and advanced courses in all major fields of the discipline: American government and politics (local, state, and national), public law and criminal justice, public administration, comparative politics, international relations and global issues, political theory, and methodology of political science. The department affords opportunities for the study of government and administration to students in other curricula and schools.

Graduate courses in public administration and international studies are available to advanced undergraduates. See the listing of graduate degree programs and consult the Graduate Catalog.

The department provides academic credit for internships with political parties and campaigns, lobbyists, non-profits, and all levels of government, including the North Carolina General Assembly Legislative Internship Program. Majors in political science with distinguished academic achievements are annually invited to join the Zeta Epsilon Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society.

Honors Program

The honors program includes nine credit hours of specialized coursework designed to challenge academically talented majors and allow them to realize their greatest potential as political science students. Required for admission to the program: 3.25 GPA both overall and in the major, completion of 9 hours of PS coursework, and completion of PS 371 Research Methodology of Political Science. Majors admitted to the program complete a substantial research project in consultation with a faculty honors adviser (6 credit hours). Also required: either one 500 level PS course or an honors option 400 level political science course (3 credit hours). Successful completion of the program is noted on the student’s transcript, and at commencement.



  • I. Morris

Chair of Political Science

  • M. Struett


  • S. Greene
  • R. Mahoney
  • A. J. Taylor

Associate Professor

  • W. Boettcher
  • C. Griffin
  • H. Hobbs
  • L. Kochtcheeva
  • M. Nance
  • T. Reid
  • J. Zink

Assistant Professors

  • M. Khisa
  • J. Liao
  • J. Peterson
  • R. Reardon

Teaching Associate Professor

  • D. Mitin

Teaching Assistant Professor

  • E. Edwards
  • A. Solari

Professors Emeriti

  • J. O. Williams

Associate professors emeriti

  • J. H. Gilbert
  • S. Kessler
  • R. Moog