University Catalog 2023-2024

Department of Molecular and Structural Biochemistry

Biochemistry is the science which is concerned with the discovery and understanding of the chemical principles of life. It is a wide-ranging field from the composition, biosynthesis, structure and function of biomolecules to the control and regulation of biochemical processes within organelles, cells, organs and organisms. Biochemical principles form the basis of most laboratory procedures within the life cycle.


The H. Robert Horton Award is given to the outstanding student in Biochemistry based on scholarly and research achievements. 


The honors program in Biochemistry is jointly administered within the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and the College of Sciences. It is designed for students who wish to explore advanced courses and/or research and be rewarded for outstanding academic achievement.


The curriculum emphasizes the fundamentals of biological, chemical, and physical sciences, offering students both breadth of knowledge and depth of understanding. It is designed to provide students with broad experience in biological and chemical sciences and to encourage the development of experimental skills. Because of the breadth of the course requirements, many students can can add a second major in a variety of science disciplines such as Biological Sciences, Microbiology, Genetics, or Chemistry. Minors can also be added from various disciplines.

For more information about this department, including contact information, visit the department website.


Department Head

  • Melanie Simpson

Director of Graduate Programs

  • Joseph J. Barycki

Undergraduate Coordinators

  • Trino Ascencio-Ibanez
  • Charles Hardin

William Neal Reynolds Professors

  • Dennis T. Brown


  • Joseph Barycki
  • Dennis Brown
  • John Mackenzie Jr.
  • E. Stuart Maxwell
  • Melanie A. Simpson

Adjunct Professors

  • K.S. Korach
  • M. Luther
  • D.F. Ferreira

Professors Emeriti

  • H.R. Horton
  • James Knopp
  • William Miller
  • Elizabeth Theil

Associate Professors

  • Michael Goshe
  • Charles Hardin
  • Flora Meilleur
  • Robert Rose
  • Gouzhou Xu

Assistant Professor

  • Colleen Doherty
  • Kerim Eroglu
  • Arion Kennedy
  • Xiaojing Liu
  • Ruben Rellen-Alvarez

Teaching Associate Professor

  • Trino Ascencio-Ibanez

Teaching Assistant Professors

  • Hung-Chieh (Kenny) Kuo
  • David Presutti

Research Associate Professors

  • Rachel Hernandez

Research Assistant Professor

  • Paul Swartz
  • Peter Thompson